Dana Lucian receives the 2023 Janine Liegi Memorial Award


Dana Luciano receives the 2023 Janine Liegi Memorial Award


On June 6th, 2023, Dana Luciano received the 2023 Janine Liegi Memorial Award presented by Rebecca Seery, principal of Wemrock Brook School on behalf of The Foundation for MERS. The Janine Liegi Memorial Award was created in honor of Janine Liegi by the Foundation for MERS for her service and dedication to the MERS school district. This award recognizes a community member for their dedication to the district and their service to the community.

Without a doubt, Dana Luciana has changed the game in so many students’ stories. She does not just teach them academics; she teaches them to believe in themselves. Ms. Luciano helps everyone get a confidence boost throughout the day. She greets her students with, “Hello, beautiful or handsome…” and encourages each student to make choices that truly reflect their good character. 

There is so much Dana does beyond the four walls of her classroom. She teaches the students how to be good citizens that contribute to society. She runs a Halloween candy drive and collects candy to donate to the troops overseas. She regularly runs drives to donate much needed items to animal shelters.

Ms. Luciano was nominated for this award by a former parent. In her nomination, she stated, “Ms. Luciano is one of the kindest people I have ever met. She was my son’s teacher … and the impact she made on him is immeasurable. He will tell you himself “Ms. Luciano made me smart.”  

Ms. Luciano, families will speak about you for years around their dinner table. They will share how you helped their children find their confidence, be proud of who they are in, and believe in themselves. The wildcat community will discuss all the contributions you make to our school overall.” Added Rebecca Seery, Principal of Wemrock Brook School


The Janine Liegi Memorial Award serves to honor and remember a remarkable woman, and ensure her legacy continues to live on throughout the district. Janine left this world way too soon and she left a mark on all that had the pleasure of knowing her. When one thinks of Janine a few things immediately come to mind, her smile, her laugh, and her genuine kindness. She was a role model to all of us. She was an example of how all of us should act daily. 


When choosing a recipient for this award, we look for someone who exemplifies the same traits as Janine. The Janine Liegi Memorial Award recognizes an outstanding individual each year for their service. The recipient of this award exemplifies dedication to the district and personal sacrifice. They are committed to the community, and they are a model of integrity. Their actions demonstrate the belief that all students can and will succeed.


Past recipients include:
2020 – Christine Parisi
 2021 – Dr. John J. Marciante, Jr.
 2022 – Eve Fleishman